Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SQL Anywhere 11.0.1 » SQL Anywhere Server - Database Administration » Configuring Your Database » Managing user IDs, authorities, and permissions » Managing groups

 

Revoking group membership

You can remove users or groups from a group in both Sybase Central and Interactive SQL.

Removing a user or group from a group does not delete them from the database (or from other groups). To do this, you must delete the user/group itself.

Only a user with DBA authority can revoke membership in a group.

When you add a user to a group, the user inherits all the permissions assigned to that group. SQL Anywhere does not allow you to revoke a subset of the permissions that a user inherits as a member of a group because you can only revoke permissions that are explicitly given by a GRANT statement. If you need to have different permissions for different users, you can create different groups with the appropriate permissions, or you can explicitly grant each user the permissions they require.

To remove a user or group from another group (Sybase Central)
  1. Connect to the database as a user with DBA authority.

  2. Click Users & Groups.

  3. Double-click a user or group.

  4. In the Memberships pane, right-click a group and then choose Remove Memberships.

Tip

You can also remove a user by double-clicking the group, clicking the Members tab in the right pane, right-clicking the user or group and choosing Remove Members.

To remove a user or group from another group (SQL)
  1. Connect to the database as a user with DBA authority.

  2. Execute a REVOKE MEMBERSHIP IN GROUP statement, specifying the group and user name.

Example

Remove the user M_Haneef from the personnel group:

REVOKE MEMBERSHIP
IN GROUP personnel
FROM M_Haneef;
See also