Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SQL Anywhere 11.0.1 » Context-Sensitive Help » SQL Anywhere plug-in help » Introduction to SQL Anywhere properties windows

 

Plug-in Preferences window: General tab

This window has the following components:

Settings   The preferences on the General tab govern how SQL Anywhere responds when you perform specific tasks in Sybase Central:

  • Warn when connecting to a read-only database   Select this preference if you want to be warned when you are connecting to a read-only database.

  • Warn when connecting with user ID without DBA authority   Select this preference if you want to be warned when you are connecting with a user ID that does not have DBA authority. You must log in with DBA authority to enable all plug-in functionality.

  • Warn when connecting to a server version that is newer than the version of the plug-in    Select this preference if you want to be warned when you are connecting to a server whose version is newer than the version of the plug-in.

  • Warn when including a column with an approximate data type in an index   Select this preference if you want to be warned when a column with an approximate data type is included in an index. It is recommended that you do not use approximate data types such as FLOAT and DOUBLE for primary keys or for columns with unique constraints. Approximate numeric data types are subject to rounding errors after arithmetic operations.

  • Warn when creating or renaming an object if a SQL keyword is used as the object name.   Select this preference if you want to be warned when you are creating or renaming an object that has a SQL keyword in its name.

  • Warn when modifying the SQL for a materialized view   Select this preference if you want to be warned when you modify a materialized view.

  • Inform when the SQL editor automatically reformats the beginning of a SQL statement   Select this preference if you want to be informed when the SQL editor automatically reformats the beginning of a SQL statement.

  • Inform when a breakpoint is hit while debugging   Select this preference if you want to be notified when a breakpoint is hit when you are working in Debug mode.

  • Inform when a statement is canceled while debugging   Select this option if you want to be notified when a statement is canceled when you are working in Debug mode.

  • Confirm adding user to group via clipboard and drag-and-drop operations   Sybase Central allows you to use drag-and-drop operations and copy and paste operations to add users and groups.

    Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to prompt you before a user or group is added by dragging and dropping or by copying and pasting.

  • Confirm granting of permissions via clipboard and drag-and-drop operations   Sybase Central allows you to use drag-and-drop operations and copy and paste operations to grant permissions on tables, views, procedures, and functions to users or groups.

    Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to prompt you before permissions are granted to a user or group by dragging or copying and pasting them to a table, view, procedure, or function.

  • Confirm creation of SQL Remote subscriptions via clipboard and drag-and-drop operations   Sybase Central allows you to use drag-and-drop operations and copy and paste operations to create SQL Remote subscriptions for remote users and consolidated users.

    Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to prompt you before you subscribe a remote user or consolidated user to a publication by dragging or copying and pasting the user to a publication.

  • Confirm creation of MobiLink synchronization subscriptions via clipboard and drag-and-drop operations   Sybase Central allows you to use drag-and-drop operations and copy and paste operations to create synchronization subscriptions for MobiLink users.

    Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to prompt you before you subscribe a MobiLink user to a publication by dragging or copying and pasting the MobiLink user to a publication.

  • Confirm deletions when editing table data   Select this preference if you want SQL Anywhere to prompt you before table data is deleted on the Data tab in Sybase Central.

  • Confirm updates when editing table data   Select this preference if you want SQL Anywhere to prompt you before table data is updated on the Data tab in Sybase Central.

  • Confirm implicit updates when editing table data   Select this preference if you want SQL Anywhere to prompt you before implicit updates are made in Sybase Central. Implicit updates are made when you are editing a row on the Data tab and then click anywhere else in Sybase Central outside the row you are currently editing.

  • Confirm cancellations when editing table data   Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to prompt you when you cancel changes to table data on the Data tab in Sybase Central.

  • Show an information message when a maintenance plan is started   Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to show an information message when you start a maintenance plan by selecting it and choosing Run Now from the menu.

  • Show a warning message when modifying or deleting an event associated with a maintenance plan   Select this preference if you want Sybase Central to show a warning message when you modify or delete an event associated with a maintenance plan.

Restore Defaults   Click Restore Defaults to return the preferences on this tab to their default values (selected or cleared). By default, all the preferences on this tab are selected.