Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SQL Anywhere 11.0.1 » SQL Remote » SQL Remote Deployment and Administration » SQL Remote Administration

 

Resynchronizing subscriptions

When you create a remote database, you extract both the schema and data from the consolidated database and use them to build the remote database. This process ensures that each database has an initial copy of the data. After deployment, you might consider resynchronizing subscriptions in the following circumstances:

  • After you complete significant maintenance to the consolidated database   For example, you make changes to the consolidated database, which updates every row in the database. By default, SQL Remote creates and sends update messages to each subscribed remote. These update messages could include the UPDATE, DELETE, and INSERT statements for each row.

    If you chose to synchronize the subscription using a SYNCHRONIZE SUBSCRIPTION statement, you only send the statements required to delete all the rows in the subscribed tables and the INSERT statements to insert all new rows.

  • When a remote database is out-of-step with the consolidated database   If a remote database becomes out-of-step with the consolidated database, you can try to use passthrough mode. See SQL Remote passthrough mode.

    If using passthrough mode doesn't work, you can synchronize the subscriptions. When you synchronize subscriptions, you force the remote database into step with the consolidated database. A SYNCHRONIZE SUBSCRIPTION statement includes statements to delete the contents of the subscribed tables in the remote database and statements to insert the rows of the subscription from the consolidated database to the remote database.

Limitations
  • Synchronization applies to an entire subscription   You cannot synchronize a single table.

  • Data loss on synchronization   Any data on the remote database that is part of the subscription, which has not been replicated to the consolidated database, is lost.

    Before synchronizing the database, use the Unload Database Wizard in Sybase Central or the Unload utility (dbunload) to unload or back up the remote database. See Export data with the Unload Database Wizard and Unload utility (dbunload).


Synchronize
Synchronize using the Message Agent (dbremote)
Start subscriptions
Stop subscriptions