Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SQL Anywhere 11.0.1 (Français) » UltraLite - Database Management and Reference » UltraLite Database Reference » UltraLite utilities

 

UltraLite Data Management utility for Palm OS (ULDBUtil)

Deletes the database from the device, or backs up the database at the next synchronization.

Syntax

N/A.

Remarks

You can use this utility to perform the following tasks:

  • Delete the database from the device when the device is shared among different users. Deleting the file allows you to save space or to maintain privacy. You can then reinstall the database or even have the database create a new unpopulated database.

  • Back up the database upon next synchronization. Use this feature to perform an initial synchronization, and then back up the database. This allows you to deploy the database to other devices, so they do not need to perform an initial synchronization.

This utility is installed as the following file:

install-dir\UltraLite\Palm\68k\ULDBUtil.prc

Once installed, ULDBUtil uses a file name filter. This filter only detects UltraLite database files that meet UltraLite extension requirements. The file name filter list excludes all files with the following extensions: .bak, .dat, .dba, .htm, .html, .in, .jpeg, .jpg, .prc, .pqa, and .tda. Ensure you do not name an UltraLite database with any extension used by this filter.

♦  To delete UltraLite application data from a Palm OS device
  1. Switch to ULDBUtil.

  2. If your device has expansion cards, pick the media (internal/external volume or record-based) from which the application database file is to be deleted.

  3. From the list of UltraLite version 11 databases, select a database.

  4. Tap Delete on the Palm device to remove the data.

The following procedure only applies to databases deployed with the HotSync conduit.

♦  To back up the database from a Palm OS device to a desktop
  1. Switch to ULDBUtil.

  2. Select the Backup option so HotSync knows to back up the database on the next synchronization attempt. You need to select this option for each subsequent back up you need. This option is disabled for databases stored on VFS volumes such as cards.

Tip

If you want to enable automatic backups and thereby avoid the need to select this option each time you synchronize, use the PALM_ALLOW_BACKUP parameter. See UltraLite PALM_ALLOW_BACKUP connection parameter.

See also
Example

N/A.