Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SQL Anywhere 12.0.0 » SQL Anywhere Server - Database Administration » Monitoring your database » SQL Anywhere Monitor » Tutorial: Using the Monitor

 

Lesson 7: Cleanup

In this lesson, you remove the demo12 resource, which deletes the collected metrics and stops data collection. In a production environment when you want to continue monitoring your database, you leave both the database and the Monitor running.

Note

You must be logged in to the Monitor as an administrator to perform the following tasks. Only administrators can remove resources. You cannot delete the SQL Anywhere Monitor resource. See Monitor users.

 To stop monitoring a resource
  1. Log in to the Monitor as an administrator.

  2. Remove the demo12 resource.

    1. Choose Tools » Administration.

    2. Select Resources.

    3. Select the demo12 resource, and click Stop.

    4. Click Remove.

    5. Click Yes to confirm that you want to remove the resource.

      Note

      When you remove a database resource, the Monitor does not delete the monitoring objects installed in the database. To delete these objects, you must connect as a user with DBA authority to the database, and then execute the following command:

      DROP USER sa_monitor_user;

      See Deleting monitoring objects.

    6. Click Close.

  3. Log out of the Monitor.

    Click Logout.

  4. Close the browser window where you are viewing the Monitor.

  5. Exit the Monitor and stop monitoring.

    • On Windows, in the system tray, right-click the SQL Anywhere Monitor icon and choose Exit SQL Anywhere Monitor.

    • On Linux, run the samonitor.sh script from the bin32 or bin64 directory in the Monitor installation directory:

      samonitor.sh stop

    The Monitor stops collecting metrics for all resources.

  6. Shut down the SQL Anywhere database.

    1. Double-click the network server icon in the system tray for the demo12 database server.

    2. Click Shut Down in the database server messages window.

    3. Click Yes.