You can alter a synchronization model after deploying it by making changes to the synchronization model and then redeploying. You can also alter your model using system procedures or other methods. However, you cannot reverse-engineer the changes back into the synchronization model when you alter a deployed model outside of Sybase Central. Changes made outside of Sybase Central are overwritten when you redeploy the model.
Deployment often causes schema changes, so you may need to update the schema even if you haven't made any other changes. For example, if you deploy a model that adds a timestamp column to each synchronized table on the consolidated database (which is the default behavior when you create a model), you need to update the consolidated schema in the model before redeploying. Likewise, if you add a table to the consolidated database and then want to redeploy, you need to update the consolidated schema in the model and then create new remote tables.
See Updating schemas.
Redeploying a synchronization model drops the recreates shadow tables. To avoid losing shadow table data, deploy the file and edit the SQL file to not recreate the shadow tables.
Discuss this page in DocCommentXchange.
|Copyright © 2010, iAnywhere Solutions, Inc. - SQL Anywhere 12.0.0|