Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SAP SQL Anywhere, on-demand edition 1.0 SP 6 » Tenant databases

What happens to my database when it is added to the cloud?

You can add a version 10 or later database as a tenant database to the cloud.

Adding a tenant database to the cloud involves copying the database and preparing the database for use in the cloud.

Preparation can include:

  • Copying the database and its files to a temporary staging directory.

  • Connecting to the database using a user ID and password, and the encryption key (if the database is encrypted).

    If you specified an incorrect user ID or password, then the process of adding the database to the cloud is interrupted. In the Cloud Console, the database's status is Awaiting credentials. Provide either a correct user ID and password or drop the database. In the Cloud Console, starting the database prompts for the missing user ID and password. In dbcloudcmd, run the SpecifyDatabaseUserAndPassword task.

  • Upgrading the tenant database to the specified database version number.

    To use SQL Anywhere administrative tools with databases in the cloud, you need a version of SQL Anywhere that matches the major version of the database.

  • Dropping references to mirror servers. Once a database is in the cloud, set up its mirroring and read-only scale-out system.

  • Adding the CloudAdmin login mode to the tenant database. The cloud uses this login mode internally to connect to the databases.

  • Removing references to the mirror transaction log. The cloud does not support mirror transaction logs.

  • Flattening the structure of the dbspaces. In the cloud, the dbspaces exist on the same disk drive as the main database file.

  • Storing the specified user ID in the cloud.

    The cloud connects to the database using a secure method that includes this database user ID, but not the password. If the database is encrypted, the cloud also uses the database encryption key. The cloud continues to use this user ID to connect to the database to perform such administrative tasks as backing up the database and restoring backups. Do not delete this user from the database. You can change or drop the user password in the database. For version 12 and earlier databases, this user must have DBA authority. For version 16 and later databases, this user must have the equivalent of the SYS_AUTH_DBA_ROLE compatibility role.

Once the tenant database is prepared:

  • The tenant database is shut down, and then it is copied from the staging directory into the cloud. By default, the database is added to the host that holds the fewest databases.

  • By default, the database is started on a cloud server, unless the database is configured to autostart.

  • The database password is discarded; it is never stored in the cloud. The password is only used to connect to the tenant database to prepare it for use in the cloud.

  • The original database is unchanged and the cloud does not use it.