Remove a host from the cloud and return the host to its pre-cloud state.
You must have Administrator privilege.
If necessary, extract tenant databases from the cloud and ensure that any backups residing on the host are moved.
Before dropping a host, ensure that the host:
is not running a cloud server that is acting as a cloud partner or cloud arbiter.
is not running a cloud server that is running a tenant primary or mirror. Cloud servers that are running scale-out database copies can exist, but these copies are dropped when the host is deleted.
is not running a cloud server that is running a tenant database that is not involved in scale-out or mirroring
does not have full backups stored on it
Delete a host from the cloud when the host computer needs to be replaced or when decreased demand makes the host unnecessary.
Deleting the host does the following:
Shuts down all cloud servers on the host.
Stops the cloud agent on the host.
Uninstalls all cloud software versions on the host.
Deletes all data directories (including database files) on the host.
The cloud software is uninstalled from the host, and the host is removed from the cloud.