Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SAP Sybase SQL Anywhere 16.0 » Context-Sensitive Help » SQL Anywhere plug-in help » SQL Anywhere properties windows


User-extended Role Properties window: General tab

This tab has the following components:

  • Name   Shows the name of the user-extended role.

  • Type   Shows the type of object.

  • This user-extended role has a password   Select this option to assign the user-extended role a password. A user cannot connect without an assigned password. However, the presence of a password does not guarantee that the user can connect. For example, the user account may be locked. Clearing this option removes the user's password and disables the Password and Confirm password fields.


    You cannot change a user's password by using Sybase Central if they have the change_password_dual_control option enabled in their login policy. See Dual control passwords.

    • Password   Type the password for the user-extended role. Passwords are case sensitive.

    • Confirm password   Confirm the password that you typed in the Password field by entering it again. The contents of the two fields must match exactly. Passwords are case sensitive.

    • Password creation time   Shows the date and time when the current password was created.

    • Require a new password to be specified at next login   Select this option to require the user to create a new password at the next login.

  • Login policy   Specifies the login policy for the user.

  • Last login time   Shows the date and time when the user last logged in.

  • Failed login attempts   Shows the number of failed login attempts by the user.

  • Locked   Shows whether the user's account is locked. Shows No if the user is not locked from the database.

  • Unlock Now   Click this button to unlock the user's account from the database. Unlock Now is disabled if the user's login policy has at least one of the following option settings:

    • locked=On
    • max_connections=0
    • max_failed_login_attempts=0

  • Distinguished Name   Shows the user's Distinguished Name (DN) if the user was authenticated by an LDAP server.

  • Clear Now   Clears the cached DN from the database for this user, causing the database server to refetch the DN when the user next authenticates to the LDAP server.

  • Comment   Provides a place for you to type a text description of the user-extended role. For example, you could use this area to describe the user-extended role's purpose in the system.

 See also