Click here to view and discuss this page in DocCommentXchange. In the future, you will be sent there automatically.

SAP Sybase SQL Anywhere 16.0 » SQL Anywhere Server - Database Administration » User and database security » User security (roles and privileges) » Privileges

 

Revoking a system privilege (Sybase Central)

Revoke a system privilege from a user, user-extended role, or user-defined role.

Prérequis

You must have administrative rights for the system privilege.

You cannot revoke privileges from the SYS role. You can revoke privileges from other system roles, provided that these privileges are not the default privileges for the system role.

Contexte et remarques

If a user has been granted exercise and administrative rights for a privilege, you can revoke the administration rights, or the exercise and administrative rights. You cannot revoke the exercise right (only), and leave the administrative right. To do this, revoke the system privilege entirely, and then regrant the system privilege with administrative rights only.

You cannot revoke system privileges from a compatibility role. However, you can migrate a compatibility role to a user-defined role, and then revoke privileges from the user-defined role.

 Task
  1. In Sybase Central, use the SQL Anywhere 16 plug-in to connect to the database.

  2. In the left pane, click System privileges, and then a system privilege.

  3. Click the Grantees tab.

  4. Choose one of the following:

    Option Action
    Revoke the privilege including its administrative rights Right-click the user or role and click Delete.
    Revoke only the administrative rights Click in the Adm. (administrative rights) column to remove the checkmark.
    Revoke only the privilege Click in the Exe. (exercise rights) column to remove the checkmark.
    Tip
    • To undo your changes, select one or more rows and click Edit » Undo.

    • To turn the Legend on or off, click File » Show Legend.

  5. Click File » Save.

Résultat

The system privilege and/or the administrative right is revoked from the user or role.

 See also