This section describes issues in upgrading a consolidated database in a SQL Remote environment. The same considerations apply to SQL Anywhere databases that are primary sites in a Sybase Replication Server installation.
For information about upgrading SQL Remote consolidated databases to version 10, see Upgrading SQL Remote.
Installing new software does not always make new features available. In many cases, new features require the Upgrade utility to be run on databases. The Upgrade utility adds any information to the system catalog required for new features to be available. When you run the Upgrade utility, it tells you to archive the transaction log. The reason for this is that a new transaction log is created by the Upgrade utility, with a new file format.
When using SQL Remote or Replication Server, the transaction log must be kept for the Message Agent and the Replication Agent, respectively. After running the Upgrade utility, you should shut down the engine, rename the log, and leave it for the Message Agent to delete. The log should also be archived for backup purposes.
See Upgrade utility (dbupgrad).