A QAnywhere message expires when the expiry time has passed and the message has not been received or transmitted anywhere.
After a message expires, it is deleted by the default delete rules. If a message has been received at least once, but not
acknowledged, it is possible to receive it again, even if the expiry time passes.
By default, messages are deleted from the client message store when the status of the message is determined to be received,
expired, canceled, or undeliverable and the final state has been transmitted to the server message store. You may want messages
to be deleted faster than that, or to hold on to messages longer. You do that by creating a delete section in your client
transmission rules file. The delete section must be prefaced by [system:delete].
The following is an example of the delete rules section in a client transmission rules file:
; This rule governs when messages are deleted from the client
; start time '1:00:00' on ( 'Sunday' )
; Messages are deleted every Sunday at 1:00 A.M.
; ias_Status >= ias_FinalState
; Typically, messages are deleted when they reach a final
; state: received, unreceivable, expired, or canceled.
START TIME '1:00:00' ON ( 'Sunday' ) = ias_Status >= ias_FinalState
By default, messages are deleted from the server message store when the status of the message is determined to be received,
expired, canceled, or undeliverable and the final state has been transmitted back to the message originator. You may want
to keep messages longer for purposes such as auditing.
Server-side delete rules apply to all messages in the server message store.